Close a WhatsApp group forever

Who I am
Lluís Enric Mayans
@lluisenricmayans


In this article we are going to explain how you can delete a WhatsApp group forever, so that it will never appear again. Surely in your WhatsApp account you have a multitude of groups created that you no longer use for a long time and that you prefer to delete to do some cleaning in your conversations.



If you have already tried, you will have noticed that the groups do not have the option to be deleted. do not have the option to be deleted and deleting them is not as easy a process as pressing a simple button. WhatsApp groups are only deleted when there are no more participants in them. Which means that, in order to delete a group definitively, you will have to empty it first.


You can do this by by asking the administrator for permissions and convincing all group participants to leave the group on their own. Another way is to expel everyone and once everyone has left, you also leave the group so that it is automatically deleted. Since this is not such a simple process, we are going to explain it step by step so you can see how it is done.

Become a group administrator or check that you are already one.

In order to start the process of closing a group, the first thing you will need to do is to check that you are the administrator. To see this, you must enter the conversation of the group you want to delete and click on the options icon, which is the one that appears as three vertical dots in the upper right corner of the screen of your mobile.





You will then see a list of all the options available to you. options that you have available and that are related to that particular group. In these options you will be able to mute the notifications of the group, see the files that you have sent to each other, etc. Once you access the options, you must click on the one that appears first in the list, which is called Group info.


When you click on this option, the system will redirect you to a screen where all the information related to the group appears. information related to the group. Within that screen, what you will have to do is go down to the part where it shows the list of group participants and one of them will be you. You will see that you do not appear with your name, but that your photo appears with the name You. You should check if next to the word You there is a label that says Admin.



If the label is there, this means that you are already the administrator of the group and you are ready to start the process of deleting the group. In case you do not see the Admin. label next to the word You, it means that you are not the administrator yet and if you want to delete the group, the first thing you will have to do is to get that position.


Scroll down the list of participants to see who has the Admin tag. who has the Admin tag and ask one of them to add you to be another admin. Alternatively, you can ask the administrator directly to close the group himself, although this way once you have been removed you cannot be 100% sure that everyone has left and the group has been closed for good.


Obviously, before closing a group by expelling members, the right thing to do would be to explain the reasons and invite them to leave on their own.



Close the WhatsApp group for good

If you have already made sure that you were an administrator or you have asked the other administrators to give you this power, you can now proceed to close the group for good. To proceed with the deletion of the group, the first thing you should do is let everyone know that you are going to close the group for whatever reason. We recommend that you invite them to leave on their own, before forcibly expelling them.


If delete groups without warning or expel people without them knowing the reasons, you will most likely generate discomfort and discomfort that will be transferred outside the messaging application. Once you have informed everyone of what you plan to do and have given them a few hours to react, it's time to get down to work.


You will have to start expel all the members members of the group, one by one. To do this, you will need to access the group info screen again, as we showed you in the previous section, via the three vertical settings buttons at the top right. In that screen, scroll down to the section where the group members are displayed.


To be able to delete a member, you must press and hold your finger for two seconds on the name of the person you want to remove. You will then see a pop-up menu with several options, from which you must select Delete this user.


Once you have pressed this button to remove the member from the group, another pop-up window will appear asking you if you really want to remove the member from the group. Since you are not doing this by mistake, we assume that you do want to remove the user, so you should press the Ok button button to confirm the action you are about to take. Once you have done so, that person will be expelled from the group.


You can see in the list of participants that this name no longer appears. He/she will still be in the group but will not be able to write in it. The last message that will appear in the group is your name followed by the words "you have been removed from the group". If you want to delete the group completely, you will have to repeat this procedure with each of the members.


Once you have removed all members, including the other administrators, you will be left alone. you will be left alone in the group. Then, from the Group Info screen from which you have done all the work, you will have the option to Leave the group. Press that button which will appear at the bottom of the info screen, next to the option to report it.


To have the power to remove the group, you must have been the last one to leave it. When you press the Leave group button button, a pop-up window will ask you if you really want to leave the group and you will be offered other options such as muting the group. Ignore this message and click the Leave option to confirm your decision and close the group for good.


Once you have clicked this button, your name will also disappear from the list of group members and a pop-up window will open with all the group information. One of the options in this window is Delete group and this is the one you will have to click on if you want to close the group permanently and delete it so that it will not appear again.




As you are no longer a member of the group you will no longer be able to access it, that is to say that it will not really be of any use, so the only option you have left is to delete it and make it disappear from your WhatsApp conversation screen.



Now you know how you can close a WhatsApp group forever and delete it, so that no one else can see it again, not even you. This way you will have your messaging tray a little clearer and it will be more comfortable for you to find the conversations that are really important.


If you are interested in learning more curiosities and features of this messaging application, do not hesitate to consult our posts on the platform of OnlywhatsAppswhere we will keep you informed of any updates that arise in WhatsApp.


add a comment of Close a WhatsApp group forever
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.