Permanently deleting your Skype account is not easy, especially since the VoIP software was acquired by Microsoft in 2011. However, there is a solution which consists of deleting your Microsoft account at the same time. Here's how.
Using another video conferencing app like Zoom or Microsoft Teams and no longer need Skype? Rest assured, deleting your Skype account is possible, but the process is not without pitfalls. Unfortunately, since your Skype account is linked to your Microsoft account, you cannot delete one without deleting the other.
This is because your Microsoft account already includes Skype in the list of connected services and unfortunately the option to unlink Microsoft account from Skype is long gone. Thus, deleting or closing your Skype account implies, in all cases, the deletion of your Microsoft account.
Before you jump in, know that you can always hide your Skype ID if, however, you don't plan on using it in the future. If you are still ready to delete your Skype account and your Microsoft account, follow the guide.
See also: Skype: how to delete a message
How do I back up my Skype data before deletion?
Before making any changes to your Skype account, you might want to export your conversations and contact data.
- Open the Skype data export page in a browser. Check the boxes next to "Conversations" and "Files". Click on Send request.
- The button Download may appear after a few hours or a few days, depending on the size of your data. Come back to this page later. This will be valid for one month.
This method will allow you to download all your Skype data before it is deleted, handy if important information is there.
See also: How to create a Skype account for free
How do I hide my Skype account from other users?
If you don't want to delete your Microsoft account, but you no longer plan to use your Skype account, you can prevent your Skype profile from appearing in search and Skype suggestions. So even if someone searches for you by your phone number, email address, location, or other details, your profile won't show up in Skype search.
- Open your Skype profile in a browser. You will need to sign in to the Skype website to open your profile there with your Microsoft account.
- Scroll down to the section Profile settings and uncheck the box next to Show in search results and suggestions.
After that, Skype will no longer show your Skype profile in contact suggestions to others. You will, in other words, be untraceable on Skype by other users. This is an alternative solution to deleting your Microsoft account.
How to permanently delete a Skype account?
To permanently delete your Skype account, follow the leader. We warn you, this procedure can be quite tedious. It also takes one to two months to be 100% complete. To remove Skype, follow these steps:
- Launch the Skype application de bureau.
- Click on your Skype name or picture, in the upper left corner and choose Parameters in the drop-down menu.
- Go to General and select Close your account.
- Select the number of days before your Skype and Microsoft accounts are deleted (60 or 30 days). Then click Next.
- It's not over. On this page, Microsoft won't make it easy for you. You have to tick all the boxes to the left. These serve as "warnings" that your Microsoft account will be closed (you will no longer have access to associated services, etc.).
- Select a reason when closing this account from the drop-down menu.
- Finally select Mark the account for closure.
You have finished. Depending on the number of days you have chosen, your Skype and Microsoft accounts will be deleted within 30 or 60 days. You just have to wait, before receiving a last e-mail on the deadline which will confirm the deletion. In the meantime, avoid reconnecting with your Skype or Microsoft account, otherwise registration will be restarted.
Is it possible to remove Skype from a smartphone?
Unfortunately no, Skype account deletion process on mobile app is not yet available. We advise you to delete your Skype account on the version for computers (Mac and PC), or to go directly to your Microsoft account online.
How to delete Skype and keep your Microsoft account?
If you don't use other Microsoft services, deleting your Microsoft account will probably be an easy choice. However, if you use other Microsoft services or products (like Xbox Live or Outlook) but want to stop using Skype, you might not want to delete your Microsoft account.
But how, then, to delete Skype if you don't want to delete your Microsoft account? Sadly, It is not possible. The only way is to minimize your personal information and then delete the app from all your devices. As it stands, Microsoft won't let you unlink your Skype account from your Microsoft account, which is a shame.
See also: Skype: how to blur the background during a video call
The editorial advises you:
- How to create a skype account for free
- Skype: how to delete a message
- How to Permanently Delete a Yahoo!